New Book : Black Magic Solutions for White Hat SharePoint

At last! After some long weekends and nights, I have finally earned the title of Author!

Black Magic Solutions for White Hat SharePoint is a book that focuses on implementing working solutions without requiring any server side code outside of a standard out-of-the-box SharePoint installation. Pre-Release book sale was announced Thursday, July 11, 2013 – Announcement – and will go on sale August 1, 2013.  Secure your copy now for only $7.95 (USD).

IMG_3103

The Authors

The book was organized by Mark Miller from End User SharePoint and is a collaboration with six other authors: Dave Coleman, Ben Tedder, Eric Overfield, Josh McCarty, Marc D. Anderson and Wendy Neal. All of them experts in SharePoint and great contributors in the community (which I still wonder to this day: how was I so lucky to land this opportunity? :) )

As you can see from the book’s cover and its reference to jQuery selectors, the solutions described will explore the use of client side technologies like JavaScript, CSS and HTML markup along with libraries and plugins available on the web today. Together, the authors describe how to build working solutions that anyone with Full Control over a team site can implement.

My Chapter

My chapter focuses on how to turn a Team Sub-Site into an Agile Tool to help manage Agile projects. This is an area I have been involved with over the last 1 1/2 years and one that has been successfully implemented across an entire development organization at one of my current employers.  The chapter walks through the different business needs that it attempts to solve and describes the approaches taken in implementing such a solution. A working prototype was created in parallel with the writing of the chapter and although not all source code will be available in the chapter itself (just too much), the more interesting parts of it will.

For those of you that decide to purchase the book, I hope that it helps in realizing the tremendous potential of creating client side solutions. I know I did the moment I started to play with SharePoint and have since added SharePoint as one of my favorite platforms to develop on.

So quick… run over to whitehatsharepointsolutions.eventbrite.com and get your early copy now (save ~$5).

,

  1. #1 by Barbara Stroud on August 21, 2013 - 5:36 pm

    Well, I can say I’ve had quite some fun working on the implementation of your Agile Team Site solution as detailed in the new ‘Black Magic’ book. Most things work but some do not and I’m still working through where the fault may be mine or my company’s customized master pages. Once I’ve got things sorted out, would you be available to help me figure out those things that I still just can’t get to work?

    • #2 by Paul Tavares on August 21, 2013 - 5:45 pm

      Barbara,
      Glad you are enjoying the implementation…I think the setup I have will lay a good foundation for you to add much more functionality as your users start to identify more needs.

      Absolutely… I will be available to help you in getting everything working as I did in the prototype. Just last week I re-implemented the solution (successfully) on SharePoint 2013 – just to prove that it works. Only had to do a few minor adjustments; mostly cosmetic due to re-named css classes in that version of SharePoint.

      I will send you my personal email.

  1. Black Magic Solutions for White Hat SharePoint Released - Eric Overfield

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

